Joy Comes in the Morning

Every morning I wake up, I swim and I head to Starbucks. The combination of my iced coffee and their free internet makes a perfect start to my day. It’s nice to walk into my local coffee haven and feel a sense of community as I have long established relationships with my Baristas – Susan (the Christian I’ve talked about before), James (the manger) and Fish (yes, that’s his real name).

In the past three months, I’ve developed a healthy spiritual habit in this place, devouring whole books of Scripture in a single sitting, pouring my heart out over pages in my prayer journal, crying for relief and praising my Savior in a single sentence. This has become my abbey of peace and I have come to realize that there is such joy in the mornings.

With each morning, there’s a sense of newness, of starting fresh. Today is a new day and God is hidden in the mystery of the yet-to-come in the day ahead. David writes in the Psalms, “Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul,” (Ps. 143:8). The morning is the best time to seek after God’s will for you day, to allow God to give you peace and the unfailing love we often fail to see throughout our busy day.

Mornings are God’s grace at its finest. A clean slate. Whatever happened yesterday is over and forgotten. Whatever happens tomorrow isn’t worth the worry, God has already taken care of it. Our loving Father blesses us with the peace of the morning to allow us to be free, to let Him work everything out in according to His will for that day, for the 24 hours ahead. Sarah Young writes it best in her devotional, Jesus Calliing. She says, “When you let Me direct your steps, you are set free to enjoy Me and to find what I have prepared for you this day.”

I love my mornings. I love the contentment that pours over my heart in knowing that I’m starting the day with my God. It’s so exciting to know that with each morning, there’s a feeling of adventure, that God will make something great happen today. What is that going to be? What is this day going to look like?

As I sit here and enjoy my iced coffee this morning, I am reminded that even though I have absolutely no idea what my life is going to look like in the future, even in the next week, I have a God who loves new beginnings, fresh starts, and mornings. I am at peace, knowing that He’s holding me in the palm of His hand and I have a feeling that today is going to be a fantastic day.

*P.S. I forgot to mention that I have a phone interview with Josh Fox from Vintage Faith in Santa Cruz tomorrow! I’ll let you know how it goes!

One thought on “Joy Comes in the Morning

  1. Hi Kelsey, I’m excited to hear about your phone interview with Josh Fox from Vintage Faith in Santa Cruz tomorrow. I will be praying that all goes well, which I know it will. I really enjoy reading your blog. Take care of yourself. Gundi

Leave a Reply

