All…Do.

Excuses. We all have them.

“It’s too expensive.”

“I don’t have enough time.”

…and, my personal favorite, “I don’t feel like it.”

We love making excuses! Everything from losing weight to tithing, reading God’s Word or talking to Him in prayer. Somehow, in our sinful minds, we think that if we can invent a good enough excuse, we are exempt.

Christians are the best at this. We don’t give 10% to our churches because we “can’t afford it”. We shy away from sharing the Gospel with our friends and family because, we “don’t want to offend anyone”. We ignore God’s calling to go and do because we “don’t know how” or “aren’t equipped with the skills and tools necessary”.

It’s about time we STOP making excuses and simply…DO.

Aside from Jesus, Paul is an immensely influential Biblical character and author of the majority of the New Testament. While Paul wasn’t eloquent or charming, he spoke to the Church and influenced generations of Christians since his first letter was penned…er, quilled?

Paul never shied away from laying down hard-to-swallow truths because he was afraid, or ashamed, or tired, or poor, or didn’t feel like it…he did it because he loved Jesus and he loved people. Paul was beaten, imprisoned, thrown out of countless temples and towns, and still found the strength to say,

For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes…’The righteous will live by faith.’ (Romans 1:16-17).

Paul simply did. He did it well. He did it often. He did it with love.

What did he do?

He obeyed.

Simple. Clean. Elegant.

Obedience.

It’s definitely not something we are naturally inclined to do. From our mother’s womb we come out, kicking and screaming, being disobedient. We push boundaries. We bend rules. We make excuses. Anything to get us out of following God and following His Word.

So, Why Don’t We Obey?

Obedience comes from love. It’s not duty. It’s not humility. It’s  certainly not our human desire. It’s love.

I love my Father. My Father loves me. Therefore, I obey my Father.

Simple. Clean. Elegant.

Now, I’m not questioning your motives for not doing. I’m not even questioning your love for God.

(I’m sure you love Him a lot).

I’m questioning myself.

Why don’t I do? Why am I stubborn in my selfish desires and incredibly lame my-dog-ate-my-homework-type excuses? Why am I so stuck on getting it my way that I can’t understand or see that God’s way is way better, safer, healthier, happier, holier…?

It’s about darn time I throw away my wretched, overgrown, hand-me-down excuses and clothe myself with the righteousness of God and the love that covers it all!

It’s time I stop with the stalling and start with the doing.

After all…All those who love do.

Leave a Reply

