Finding Worth

I used to tell this story to the girls in my youth group…

A man walks into an antique store and stops at a gorgeous Victorian-era table. He asks the owner, “This table is beautiful! How much does it cost?”

The woman who owns the shop responds, “$600”.

Utterly shocked, the man replies, “What?! That’s way too expensive for something so old and clearly used! Why would I pay so much for something so old?! I’ll give you half that price.”

The woman looked at the table and back at the man. She sees he is intent on making a deal and decides to explain to him the true value of the antique. “This table is absolutely beautiful! It’s one of a kind. You can’t find a table like this anymore and it’s worth is far greater than the price I quoted!”

Frustrated, the man realizes the woman is not interested in making a deal and leaves the store upset.

The next day, the same man walks into the same antique store. He finds the owner at the counter and asks about the table from the day before. “Do you remember me?” he asks. “I was here yesterday. I wanted to see if you were still interested in my offer.”

The woman recognizes the man and smiles. “Yes! I remember you! You wanted to give me $300 for a table worth twice that! I’m glad you came back because I have, indeed, changed the price of the table!”

The man is delighted and asks, “So, you’ve lowered the price?”

“No. You helped me realize how much that table is really worth. It’s such a beautiful, unique, and stunning table. It’s worth is far greater than $600. So, I repriced the table at $1,000!”

“What?! That’s outrageous! You can’t do that!” replies the man.

“Yes, I can. I realize you’re a smart man and I can tell you really loved the table. If you’re interested in buying, it’s worth $1,000 and not a penny less.”

The man studies the beautiful antique and slowly sees it in a different way – its delicate workmanship, unique detail, and the beautiful lines. It truly was a beautiful piece of art. With a sigh, he gets out his checkbook and writes a check for $1,000. The man knew the table was unique and worth every penny.

I tell this story because during these past few weeks, I’ve been struggling with seeing my worth.

What am I worth?

What is my value?

It’s easy to buy into the idea that I’m only worth what someone else says I’m worth.

It would be absolutely absurd if the table in our story looked in the mirror and said, “That man thought I was only worth half my value. I can see he’s right! I’m old and outdated. I have scratches and my wood is chipping. My worth is nothing! Why would anyone want to buy me in the first place?”

If it’s not okay for our beautiful antique table to act this way, why is it okay for us to feed our minds with these kinds of lies?

Satan loves to lie to us. He whispers in our ear, “You’re only worth what your boyfriend says you’re worth. You’re worth the amount on your paycheck. Your worth is in how you dress, your size, your hair color, or height.” He sells us lies and we are happy to buy. Soon, we don’t even need Satan to lie to us. We do it ourselves! We say, “My value is in how I look, how much weight I’ve lost, how perfectly polished I present myself to be.” Not unlike other women, I will spend thousands of dollars this year on my outward appearance – gym membership, makeup, clothes, hair cuts and dye – and I’m slowly losing myself, trying to appease Society’s ideals of worth. Devouring Satan’s lies.

When we listen to lies, we lose sight of our true beauty. The beauty of our Creator.

Our God has created us to be lovely, beautiful, unique, one-of-a-kind. When we are blinded by the darkness of lies and others’ opinions of our worth, it’s impossible for us to see the truth of His worth.

The truth is that we are worth dying for.

Our Father sees us as worthy. Worthy to receive the ultimate gift of love in His Son’s sacrifice. Worthy of salvation through redemption (literally, meaning to be paid back in full!). Worthy of eternal life.

Our worth is in Christ alone and only He can determine our value.

To Him, we are priceless.

Leave a Reply

