Day #212: Getting Personal

This week’s post was taken from my 365-day dating experiment, “The Postcard of My [Single] Life” from May 4, 2010. I revisited the retired blog today and thought it was a fantastic post that still reigns true today.

Enjoy!

It’s easy to take the subject matter of “dating” and spin it with a humorous and sarcastic twist. Quite frankly, I think I’m hilarious, even if it is just a party of one. However, there comes a moment in one’s singleness when they feel a slight uneasiness, almost a dull pain, of realization that they are, in fact…single.

Singleness is a great joy, a blessing in my life. Honestly, I do enjoy being single and will continue to be content with my relationship status until God says otherwise. I’m not the kind of girl to dwell on what I don’t have or focus on the negative in my life. What can I say? All my clouds are lined with silver ribbon!

That being said…

Lately, I’ve been feeling like I’m on the precipice of a great adventure in my life. I’m at the top of the largest peak of the largest roller coaster in the world, free-falling, floating, waiting for gravity to kick in and whirl me into the great unknown of more spirals and curves. There’s an epic adventure in my future and I often yearn for that adventure to be a husband.

I can’t wait to have a team mate, someone who knows me as I know myself, someone who I can get in trouble with and walk with throughout the experiences of life. I can’t wait to marry the man who cherishes me and protects me. The guy who will buy me daisies on a Wednesday, because he knows that I hate roses, even if they are on sale. I can’t wait to marry the guy who looks across the room and says, “That’s her. She’s the one I want to marry!” I can’t wait to marry the man who is a great father, wise,  an adventurer, courageous, sacrificing, selfless and loving.

I can’t wait to marry this man!

I’ve kept a journal of letters that I’ve written to him since my senior year of high school. I’ve waited a long time so far and I don’t know when they’re going to be delivered. I can’t wait to deliver these letters, to have them read.

Being single is fun. I have freedom to spend time with friends, go to parties, fly off to Seattle for my birthday. Yes, being single is a blast, but I still go to sleep by myself. I wake up by myself. I eat most of my meals by myself. Even with roommates, friends and co-workers, I still spend most of my time by myself. I can’t wait for the day when I get to do these things with the one I love.

So, until the day comes when I finally get to walk towards my hero, in a white dress in front of family, friends, and God, here is what I have to say to you, my husband…

can wait for you.

2 thoughts on “Day #212: Getting Personal

  1. This is really timely with what I’ve been feeling lately. The feeling of waiting for God’s best. 🙂 It’s sometimes really excruciating, especially when your other friends have been or are already in a relationship and you aren’t. haha. then you count the time that passes. 🙂 But that’s the funny thing about God, He really wants us to value the process of waiting, and greatly use the time to improve and form ourselves to be the best person we can be. 🙂 So that, the ones waiting for us to, perhaps, will experience truly what God’s best really is for them, 🙂

  2. You are absolutely right! There is so much to be learned in the waiting. If we’re focused only on the end result – the relationship, the marriage, the children, the job, etc. – we miss out on the real joy of living. There’s so much more God can teach us in the in-between time. I’ve seen friends enter into relationships and marriages and I’ve seen friends get their hearts broken and, sadly, get divorced. It’s better to enjoy the waiting, figure out who you are and to Whom you belong to before rushing His plans for you – whatever and whenever they may be. It’s easy to profess patience and peace, but when friends are finding love, it can be a heart-crushing experience – the feeling of being left out or left behind. Take comfort in knowing that God has specific, unique, and amazing plans for you.

Leave a Reply

