The Peace in Insanity

You know how they say that hindsight is always 20/20?

They’re right.

I could easily name one or two things that I have said or done in the last few years (heck, the last few days!) that I should have said or done differently. I should have been more graceful when breaking up with him. I should have listened to her advice. I should have poured into them, setting their hearts on fire for the Lord. My world could be filled with all kinds of should haves if I was the kind of person who filled their world with the past.

Fortunately, I’m not.

Hindsight may be 20/20, but that doesn’t mean the future is blind.

Every day, God is teaching me new and glorious things. Things about my life, my heart, my spirit, and the woman He’s molding me to be. God is showing me how to live so my future isn’t a blind, hot, mess.

The experiences I have now are going to affect my later. The decisions I make in the present lay down the foundation for my future. In all my adventures – leaving my comfortable church job, moving to Phoenix, working for minimum wage, building a new life with a new career – God has been molding me and blessing me with opportunities to develop my future life.

When I lived my comfortable life in California, I would picture my future and, more often than not, it would terrify me. All I saw ahead of me was a life of mundane, apathetic living in a world that wasn’t adventurous or exciting or filled with passion. I feared the unknown, instead of embracing it.

It’s been a year and my life is anything  but comfortable. My job barely pays my bills, I still live with my parents, and I’m nowhere near “settling down”. The only thing constant in my life is chaos (and my 9-5 job). Now, when I picture my future, it’s full of possibilities, excitement, and open availability for God to work out His crazy plans! Instead of running away from discomfort, I welcome it with open arms. I run towards the unknown because the unknown is where the adventure happens.

Most people live to be comfortable, but when was the last time you embraced the insanity of what has yet to come? You might surprise yourself to find it’s in the chaos where you’ll find the peace you’ve been looking for. Hindsight is 20/20, but the future is clear in Christ.

Leave a Reply

