Blerg: (bl-er-g); interj. – an exclamation of frustration

Blerg.

Thank you, Tina Fey for inventing this word – For it, I will always love you.

It is highly unlikely for me to admit to feeling down in the dumps. Unless you’re my sister or a close friend, your perception of me is probably (hopefully!) a pleasant one. Don’t get me wrong, I am a natural optimist- I have an uncanny ability to find the bright side in any blerg-worthy situation. Yet, sometimes I’ve got 99 problems and a negative attitude ain’t one.

Until recently, I’ve been in a perpetual state of blerg-ness. Unhappy with my career, my marital status, my living arrangement, and everything else in between, I just couldn’t help but feel frustrated – all the time. My life was not  going the way I intended it to. God never listened to my plans and was constantly teaching me life lessons.

Ugh, how annoying, right?!

Praise the Lord for 2013! With the new year came a new attitude and I quickly shed the weight of negativity and my hope-filled outlook on life resumed.

For me, my blerg-ness has taken a hiatus, but what about you? What makes you go “Blerg!”?

Are you frustrated at work? Unimpressed by gossiping coworkers or lack of career movement? Maybe you’ve been trying to find a job for months, with no hope in sight? Does your relationship lack the exciting passion it once boasted? Are you and your significant other on different pages or different planets? What about your relationship with God? Are you stuck in a spiritual rut?

Whatever your blerg-ness may be, you should know a couple of things.

  1. It’s okay to be in a state of “Blerg!” – Enduring seasons of frustration are a natural part of life. You can admit you’re irritated. Embrace it wholeheartedly, work through it, and then move on. Being in a constant state of dissatisfaction can create a discontent heart, a lackluster faith, and a lifeless party pooper. So, take a hard and long look at what’s eating at you and give it to God. He’ll take it away and return you to your blerg-free self.
  2. Blerg happens to everyone – We all go through it! Everyone from Oprah to Homeless Joe endures moments of elation and moments of defeat. You may pride yourself on “having it all together”, but the allusion of self control doesn’t free you from the reality of “Blerg!” Nobody has it altogether and we don’t expect you to either. So, again, embrace what you’re feeling and let it go.
  3. Blerg-ness isn’t forever – It will pass. There’s comfort in knowing whatever is frustrating you, whatever you’re experiencing, isn’t going to last a lifetime. It may seem like it will never end, but it will. Trust me…Trust God. He is walking with you through the muck of discontentment and He’s promised the pains of this world are only a glimpse, compared to the glory of eternal life.

Tina Fey has given us the best exclamation for our feelings of frustration – “Blerg!” – but our Creator is the One who gives us hope in those times we feel it.

My prayer for you, friend, is not to remove the moments of blerg-ness, but for you to allow our mighty Savior to grow and mold you in those times of defeat, frustration, and dissatisfaction.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” – Jesus (John 16:33)

2 thoughts on “Blerg: (bl-er-g); interj. – an exclamation of frustration

Leave a Reply

