Wanderlust

I’m a wandering addict.

A vagabond.

A nomad.

I don’t know what it is about wanderlust, but it’s got a hold of me and I love every bit of it. As I see the far-off horizon of turning 30, I can’t help but wonder:

When is it time to “settle down” and plant some roots?

In the past ten years, I’ve moved countless times, lived in four different states, and a handful of cities and towns – Gilbert, Seward, Irvine, Coeur C’Alene, Rocklin, Roseville, Auburn.

With every move, I’ve had to take a look at my life and think, “What can I get rid of? What do I actually need?”

With moving comes the necessary and natural downsizing of life. Furniture is sold, extra sets of dishes are given away, clothes are sent to Goodwill, and life becomes simple again. Each move brings a fresh start and a new beginning.

I love the excitement of meeting new people, discovering new places, and adopting new (to me) coffee shops and community cafes as my homes-away-from-home.

My wandering spirit craves the excitement of a new beginning and a fresh start.

This is also why I love grace so much.

God’s grace gives us a new beginning as well. When temptation and bad decisions unfold into sin, God’s grace puts us back together again and makes us new. We dust off our old selves and put on a new self, one enveloped in the love and sacrifice of a Savior. His death on the cross transformed into a resurrection that gives us the gift of grace.

Just as I crave the life of a vagabond, so our soul craves the path of temptation. Our human skin defaults to sin, but God’s grace covers us again.

“And all are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.” – Romans 3:24

Through grace, I am no longer enslaved by my vagabond ways.

“For sin shall no longer be your master, because you are not under the law, but under grace…” – Romans 6:14

I may always have a wandering spirit, but I think J.R.R. Tolkien says it best,

“Not all those who wander are lost…”

Leave a Reply

