Just an Update

I’ve been in Arizona for two and a half years, and every day it baffles me that I’m still in Arizona!

It’s not that I don’t like the valley (although I could definitely do without the heat!) it’s that God continually surprises me with His creative and adventurous will for my life.

On September 1, 2011, I begrudgingly moved back in with my parents, hoping the stay would be temporary. I talked with countless churches within my staunchly conservative denomination, hoping to dive back into youth ministry, but after every phone call or Skype interview, God began to show me He had different plans.

These plans of His included leaving my denomination, letting go of youth ministry, choosing to be baptized in my non-denominational church, settling in with Mom and Dad, floating in a sea of unknown vocation, and (miraculously!) landing a job at Yelp in marketing and advertising. What a drastic turn of events my life has taken in three years!

Now, as I sit in Liberty Market, writing about my life thus far, I gaze on the horizon of my future and realize I’m on the precipice of a new adventure. My grad school application is signed, sealed, and delivered, and as I wait for my interview in May, I am left with my thoughts and an ample amount of patience.

The past three years have been insanely difficult, the most trying time in my life, but God has guided me through these treacherous  waters like the most skilled of sailors. As we’ve dodged tidal waves of doubt and swells of disappointment, God’s expert navigation has brought me this far and He continues to remind me – look to what’s ahead.

Forget the former things;
    do not dwell on the past.
See, I am doing a new thing! – Isaiah 43:18-19a

Leave a Reply

