The Myth of Feminism

“Feminism is not a dirty word. It does not mean you hate men, it does not mean you hate girls that have nice legs and a tan, and it does not mean you are a ‘bitch’ or ‘dyke’; it means you believe in equality.” – Kate Nash

In the past few weeks, I’ve been diving into Sarah Bessey’s idea of being a Jesus Feminist. Of course, in a perfect world, being a Christian should be the equivalent to being a Feminist…after all, Jesus was for gender equality and being a Christian is following after Jesus, so you would think the Christian church should be the leading army behind gender equality. Alas, in my personal experiences with the Church, this is not always the case.

As I dive deeper into Christian Feminism, my eyes are opened to an ignorant world of men and women who don’t really know what Feminism actually means. After half a dozen conversations with different people  – friends, coworkers, strangers sitting next to me at lunch – I realized when some people hear the word “Feminism”, a matriarchal, women-are-better, man hating Amazon woman comes to mind.

This, my friends, is not Feminism.

Simply put, Feminism is fighting for the equality of women. That’s it.

Feminism is not femininity over masculinity. It’s not an “us vs. them” mentality, that women are better than men. I can be a Feminist and still be a breast-feeding, stay at home mom. I can be a Feminist and be a CEO of a multi-million dollar company. Feminism gives me the choice and freedom to make either of these decisions, without public shaming or a stigma of the, “you throw like a girl” variety.

As a Feminist, I’ve never burned my bra, gone a year without shaving, or given up men for life (although sometimes I’ve come close!) Being a Feminist simply means I fight for the right to get paid the same amount of money as my male coworkers, be treated as an equal, and have the right to make a choice about what I want to do in my life and career.

Believe it or not, gender inequality still exists. Even though we’ve taken beautifully immense strides in racial equality, marriage equality, and have even legalized marijuana, gender inequality continues to be a real issue.

So, to break it down, Feminism is a good thing.

This is Feminism:

feminism2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is NOT Feminism:

feminist1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Go forth, be equal.

3 thoughts on “The Myth of Feminism

  1. Feminism is one giant “No True Scotsman” fallacy. Feminism doesn’t actually exist. This is the problem with Feminism. Anything negative at all in any capacity said about feminism is met with “No TRUE Feminist” to such an extent that No feminists exist at all, and yes you have been “No True Feminist”ed out of feminism as well.

  2. Pingback: 6 Months Ago… | Where In The World Is Kelsey?

Leave a Reply

