6 Months Ago…

I’ve kept a prayer journal since high school, which means I’ve been able to chronicle the past 10+ years in writing. I’ve done a pretty good job at documenting everything, too. From break-ups and disappointments, new jobs and resignations, moves, lament, and praises, I’ve covered it all. Praying/writing about the heartbreak, the loss, and the joy throughout my days and weeks is a beautiful way for me to talk with God and process life, but it’s also interesting for me to read old entries.

6 months ago, this is where I was…

  • Discovering my calling to be in full-time pastoral ministry.
  • Waiting to hear about my acceptance into graduate programs, specifically The Seattle School of Theology & Psychology.
  • Reading Jesus Feminist & re-thinking my whole view on women in ministry and the Church.
  • Praying for God to provide for my finances while in grad school.
  • Struggling between continuing a lucrative career in marketing/advertising or choosing the life of a broke grad student.

 

I poured over the pages in my journal. I cried and wept over the decisions I had to make. I prayed for faith. I prayed for wisdom. I prayed for patience and trust. I prayed for guidance. I prayed for discernment. I prayed for peace.

6 months later, I find myself praying for the same things, yet my life looks drastically different…

  • I accepted God’s calling to go back into full-time ministry, but this time as a pastor.
  • I got into grad school at The Seattle School.
  • I embraced my femininity as an asset for the Church and decided to glorify God with my gender.
  • Finances are being taken care of (only by the grace of GOD!)
  • I left my career, moved 3,000 miles from Phoenix to Seattle, and am absolutely loving the life of a broke grad student!

 

It’s amazing how much has changed in the last 6 months. It’s amazing how much God has done in the last 6 months. It’s amazing to think of what my life will look like in the next 6 months!

As I sit and read my prayer journal from June and July, I’m reminded of the praise Isaiah proclaims in the Old Testament:

O Lord, you are my God;
    I will exalt you; I will praise your name,
for you have done wonderful things,
    plans formed of old, faithful and sure. — Isaiah 25:1 (ESV)

My encouragement for you: Take time to contemplate where you’ve been in the last 6 months. Where has God taken you? How far have you come?

Then, rejoice! God’s not done with you yet.

Leave a Reply

