30 Things Before Turning 30 Years Old

Can we all take a moment to acknowledge it will be 2015 in a few days?

2015. Let that sink in a bit.

This is the year, friends. This is the year I run hard and fast toward God. This is the year I spend more time focusing on myself than pleasing others. This is the year I get my act together. And, this is the year I turn 30.

30.

That’s kind of a big deal, right?

I know some people have a well thought-out agenda, timeline, or game plan of where they’d like to be by the time they’re 30. According to my Facebook feed, I should either be getting engaged, buying a house (or some other big ticket item) or having a baby. Instead, I’m accumulating debt after I decided to quit my job, move 3,000 miles to Seattle, and start attending grad school at the ripe ole’ age of 28. Needless to say, I think I shot down any chance for a so-called “timeline” when I signed onto this new life. So, no game plan for this girl, but I figured it couldn’t hurt to set up a nice, realistic, list of the things I want to accomplish this year…

30 Things Before Turning 30 Years Old

  1. Eat at a fancy restaurant
  2. Run a race
  3. Finish my first year of grad school
  4. Read a book for fun (and actually finish it)
  5. Reconnect with long lost friends
  6. Stop cussing…Stop cussing so much…Stop cussing in church
  7. Step out of my comfort zone
  8. Go sky diving
  9. Kayak on the Sound
  10. Sleep in without feeling guilty
  11. Face a fear
  12. Spend a day without technology
  13. Go camping
  14. Start something amazing
  15. Declutter my life
  16. Go on a trip
  17. Climb something
  18. Date a good guy
  19. Learn to live healthily (emotionally, spiritually, physically)
  20. Go to a concert
  21. Throw a party
  22. Learn to be loving (1 Cor. 13:4-8)
  23. Ride on a motorcycle
  24. Learn how to fish
  25. Go to a Seattle sporting event
  26. Eat something new
  27. Write letters to those who need something good to come in the mail
  28. Get into Breaking Bad
  29. Play more music
  30. Don’t give a shit* about turning 30

Do you have a list? Share it in the comments!

*It’s okay, I’m not in church.

Leave a Reply

